Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development

These days, many adults are working at home instead of travelling to their workplace and more children are studying online instead of going to school because technology has become more economical and easier to access. Some people may not support the phenomenon but I am of the opinion that it is a positive development.

On the one hand, working and learning online may have some downsides. Firstly, there are some students and workers who are distracted from studying and working from home. For instance, these people may play games and browse many off-topic links instead of learning and working. As a result, their productivity is lower compared with work and study at the workplaces and schools where they are observed by managers and teachers. Another problem is the lack of interaction between people in the work and in the class. Rather than delivering face-to-face communication with colleagues and classmates, workers and students are often alone and talk with others on the computer screens.

On the other hand, working and studying online bring about enormous benefits. Firstly, the employees and students do not need to travel to work and school. As a consequence, they can have more time to work and learn. Added to that, it may contribute to less traffic congestion and air pollution in many megacities because less people commute to work and school. Moreover, the time working and learning online tend to be more flexible so the workers and students may feel more comfortable. Thus, they can work and study effectively.

In conclusion, despite many drawbacks of distance working and learning, the benefits it brings may be more significant.