Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Thanks to technological advancement, manifold aspects of mankind's life have hitherto been made easy and user-friendly. A large number of businessmen and students doing work through the Internet nowadays is the result of the development of technology. In my estimation, I believe that this evolution is a positive step and brings various benefits in terms of convenience and flexibility for time and location despite experiencing a few numbers of drawbacks.

First and foremost, the deciding advantage involved in working from home is to enhance people's convenience and flexibility which also means that they are given a chance to not merely schedule their own timetable but also decide a place to work. To exemplify, such commodious public areas including coffee shops and libraries would be comfort zones for students to accomplish their coursework faster and more effectively anytime rather than keeping themselves in a limited space and a fixed arrangement in the schoolroom. This would result in actively choosing an environment that best suits them to maximize their productivity in both work and study. Besides, there is another lucrative factor that working and studying online bring to people.

Furthermore, technology makes a decisive contribution to human intelligence which takes pride of place since there are more opportunities given on the internet for people around the world in order to broaden their horizons. One case in point is that Asian high-school graduates are able to enroll on an online course from any premier university in the West without having to relocate. It is due to many prestigious universities have been offering degrees and certificates on their website which means materials and books are accessible online. This growth of technology enables the possibility for students from different continents to acquire knowledge from their new educational methods. Nevertheless, technology may cause certain number of negativity.

Contrary to popular perception, a sedentary lifestyle is unintentionally led by the progression of technology. Instead of moving around in the office and classroom, both businessmen and students are able to work on their computers which will undeniably result in severe repercussions in relation to incredibly inactive life and health conditions. Consequently, the sitting lifestyle is a major concern of technological improvement.

On balance, although a sedentary life can be caused, the refinement in terms of time and geographical flexibility, as well as understanding extension, is indeed constituted with advances in technology. While recognising the possible disadvantages of technology, I consider it to be a positive growth in general.