Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Thanks to globalization, export and import have hitherto been gaining ground between numerous nations in the world. In my judgment, this action is a positive development as trading food universally is beneficial in terms of the diversity of food amongst countries and the reduction of the unemployment rate.

First and foremost, the deciding factor that positively influences importing food is that people are able to share divergent kinds of food which can be grown in their countries but not in others. To exemplify, rice which is an indisputable food in a meal of every Asian country can now be exported to the West where it is impossible to raise this plantation due to the lack of cultivated land and suitable tropical climate weather. Hence, trading rice from Asia to Europe or America certainly put Western people in a position to absorb the nutrients that rice carries. In addition to the cultural share between nations, there are a few more advantages that are resulted from food exportation.

Contrary to popular beliefs, exchanging food across countries and cultures might make a decisive contribution to declining the number of people who are unemployed in both exporting and importing countries. This is because there will be more job opportunities for miserable people such as goods conveyors, truck and container drivers. Particularly, they are permitted to provide transport services from the harbor to retailers, which undoubtedly saves them from wandering around and begging strangers for money on the street or even committing unlawful activities. The eventual outcome can be lucrative for the population and the economic growth of both exporters and importers.

On balance, even though prices of food sold overseas can be marginally more expensive than the domestic one, cultural exchange and unemployment rates in both developed and developing countries will undeniably be refined considerably through trading food abroad. Personally, I believe that the public should be given an incentive to export and import foodstuffs across various nations not merely to widen their horizons regarding foreign languages but also to enhance their quality of life.