Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, when technology has become less expensive and its accessibility is more available, people have been enabled to work and study online at home. From my perspective, this development has both upsides and downsides.

On the one side, no longer having to travel away from home assists people to live more economically. This is because commuting to work or school is unnecessary for them. For example, after the Ukraine-Russia war, the gasoline price has risen dramatically. Therefore, this will reduce the money spent on travelling, as well as the weight on their budgets. Moreover, it increases the level of security in life. An instance of this is the Covid-19 pandemic, by staying at home and still capable of working, a plethora of people had successfully avoided contracting the disease, for they have limited contact with one another. As a result, the fatality rate was made as low as possible.

On the flip side, people can have difficulty in socialising with the others. Particularly, technology has made it so convenient that almost anything can be done at home, leading to less need to go outside home. This means they have less time for conversation with others, creating anti-social behaviours. Another bad point of this is that the quality of work can be unqualified. Although people find it flexible for them to work or study from home, unwanted disturbances can always occur. Possible interruptions like noises from neighbours can distract employees, while at the workplace, they will work in an environment that boosts concentration.

In conclusion, technology advancement undeniably brings many benefits to humanity; however, it also causes a number of negative impacts.