Many people believe that music is just a form of entertainment, whilst others believe that music has a much larger impact on society today.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views regarding the functions of music in today’s world. Although some regard music as just an entertainment form, I agree that it affects the modern society to a greater extent.

On the one hand, it is plausible why music is considered to be a kind of entertainment solely. The main justifications for this are music’s original primary purpose and the fact that the audiences are now mostly interested in the songs’ melodies rather than their content. Thus, songwriters now tend to focus more on polishing the format than the subject while composing music. For example, pop artists are currently churning out pieces of music with captivating melodies and catchy lyrics since such factors are what really entertain listeners and commonly choose love-hate relationships as their topics.

On the other hand, I would argue that other than being a sort of entertainment, music also has other uses in the current world. Firstly, music can transmit feelings and emotions to the audience and hence either hype up their mood or reshape their outlook on issues in life. A perfect instance for this is the national anthems, which serve to boost the soldiers’ spirit in the defense of their countries, both in the past and even at present. Moreover, music provides employment for millions of people. In particular, music itself makes up a big industry that makes a significant the economic growth of a nation. In other words, without music, the society would suffer from an indispensable loss.

In conclusion, I believe music does not only provide entertainment but it also serves as a tool for conveying sentiments and economic support.