Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will no longer be necessary because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that a computer can enable people to view artifacts and artwork on the Internet, so public museums and art galleries will be regarded as unnecessary. However, I personally believe that the benefits associated with those places including tourism promotion and in-depth understanding of the works of art are more significant.

Firstly, preserving historical museums and art galleries is essential because they are valuable assets to the tourism industry. This is explained by the fact that museums and art galleries are famous tourist attractions and so a great number of tourists going on holiday always put watching the historical and artistic displays on their to-do lists. As a result, the tourism revenue will be increased considerably as people spend their money on trips to these spots.

Secondly, computers are incapable of giving people the experience of being in the presence of the historical objects and masterpieces, which is different from just viewing static pictures and videos of them behind the screen. To be more specific, people can only sense the sacred atmosphere and subsequenly comprehend the genuine historical, cultural and artistic values of the artefacts and works of art when they are observing them in person.

In conclusion, I subscribe to the view that historical museums and art galleries will never become obsolete since without the existence of these culturally and historically significant places, the tourism industry will receive substantial losses and people will find it impossible to fully understand the true values of the historical objects and artistic creations.