Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been a common phenomenon around the globe that people from remote areas are migrating to metropolitan cities, leading to the decline of populations in the countryside. This issue, I believe, may emerge as an appalling occurrence in a long-time period due to the reasons that I will elaborate down below.

First and foremost, one major reason for this is that cities are not necessarily promising to all layers of society. Usually, there are degrading sentiments toward newcomers, who might be seen as unrelatable or lack of education. The perceptions, together with the dense population –also caused by exodus–, lead to the limited choices and opportunities available for them, making it more difficult to obtain suitable jobs with high salaries. In the upcoming era , the narrow chances, therefore, might further contribute to increasing numbers of unemployment in the city. For example, Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia, is both the most populated city and one of the cities with highest unemployment.

In addition, the trend of urbanization would adversely affect the well-being of villages, which have as many potentials as cities. Rarely do these not come from agriculture and farming sectors, where youngsters nowadays put minimal interests in. Whereas, both sectors are the core economic wheels for rural areas. If they were given attention seriously, they would be able to distribute produce that are possible for not only local but also global market, making the sectors even more profitable. Thus, conceivable neglect of rural areas that migration could cause is unfortunate.

To conclude, it seems to me that the difficulties to find opportunities in big cities and the probable disregard toward countrysides are negative impacts of urbanization. Being independent on the hopes that cities offer and exploring opportunities in rural areas, would appear to be a better option for potential migrants.