Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people assume that professionals with specific educational requirements, such as doctors and engineers, are supposed to implement their practice in the same nation as the education took place. However, others believe otherwise. Different views are emerging toward this issue and I will explain why before giving my own opinion.

On the one hand, supporters of the first view point out that during their studies, professionals not only deepen their knowledge regarding their fields, but also learn about indigenous traditional knowledge which has strong correlation with a country’s healthcare and infrastructure. For example, bathing ritual in Ganges River, India, which is part of Hindu culture, could contribute to the soaring of infectious diseases caused by the pollution in the water. Were health providers provided with local wisdom of a nation, it would be easier for them to cure the health risk that may be generated by this worship tradition persuasively.

However, opponents of this view believe that the general knowledge of science, including health and engineering, are universally the same. To be more specific, doctors and engineers usually work together in a team, whom they are able to discuss with, before taking crucial decisions for scarcely any religious or cultural problems related. This should not limit them to seek more opportunities outside the country where they obtain their educational background, since rarely could prospects for some professional fields be found in the same nation. For instance, numerous universities in Indonesia provide nuclear engineering programs, while not one nuclear power plant exists in the country. Thus, exploring opportunities abroad is a rational choice.

Taking everything into account, in spite of special occasions that might happen, it seems to me that professionals should be allowed to pursue careers wherever they aspire to. This is as long as they also take time to familiarize themselves with indigenous culture of the chosen country.