Art classes, like painting and drawing are as important as other subjects, so they should be compulsory subject in high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions diverge on whether art classes should be compulsory in high school now that it brings multiple merits for the promotion of children as other subjects. Although this sentiment can be justified to a certain extent, I lean forward to the opposite owing to rational reasons.

There is no denying that art classes are conducive for children to grow comprehensively as other subjects. This can be explained by the fact that when attending painting or drawing classes, students have to think meticulously to pick the right colour and have a good focus. This can train the students the ability of patience and important-decision-making skills which allow students to learn other subjects efficiently . For instance, when studying mathematics, students who don’t attend art classes are inclined to give up advanced questions rather than the attending ones. Furthermore, due to properties of the subject, students also have to virtually imagine leading to the improvement of their creativity.

Conversely, I censure that art is added as a compulsory subject for all students. Perceptibly, art is an aptitude and talent subject that is not suitable for most students to adapt to. Besides the homework of various academic subjects, students have to complete a large amount of art homeworks. As a result, they don’t have enough leisure time for relaxation or playing sports leading to the incomprehensive improvement . This movement can put a strain on students that can spell trouble for their mental health.

To sum up, I decry the idea that art should be a compulsory subject at school albeit its myriad merits.