Art classess, such as painting and drawing, are as important for children’s development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that art classes should be mandatory in the school curriculum since compare to other subjects, they are as crucial for students’ growth as those. In my opinion, i partly concur with this view.

To begin with, art classes make an equal contribution to the growth of a child as other classes. Firstly, art course could help students hone soft skills such as observation skills and hand-eye coordination. To put an object on a page, students tend to inspect things in manifold angles as well as their hands could not draw without the meticulous observation of eyes. Secondly, by studying art courses, children may relieve stress caused by other dull classes and the pressure of getting high marks. For instance, learning dry subjects such as mathematics or physics requires an accuracy, there is an only right answer, however, art classes is disparate. There is not a certain standard in art, children could have a plenty of scope for creativity.

Despite the advantages of art classes aforementioned, I believe that art subjects should be made optional rather than compulsory. One problem is that not every student born with a talent of drawing or being passionate for painting, so they could be put under pressure. Regularly obtaining poor score in painting would lower their morale in learning. In addition to this, they are also unmotivated to study art lessons as it could be futile for their future career path. For example, if a student desire to be an entrepreneur, he would focus on high school instead of drawing.

In conclusion, from my viewpoint, i do agree with the notion that art classes plays an important role in children’s developments, nonetheless, it should not be required in school.