The assessments of the student’s learning outcomes are the main way to collect their progress in educational courses. It is said that students’ ability should be assessed basing on their performance on a test at the end of course. To what extend, do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is true that the assessments of students’ learning outcomes play a vital role in students’ lives. To a certain extent I agree that professors should assess students’ abilities base on their results in a test at the end of course; however, I also believe that professors could determine students’s abilities through some aspects.

On the one hand, I think that assessing students’s capabilities basing on their final results is acceptable. To use a common example of this practice, many students at university nowadays, especially senior, have to do some part-time jobs to make ends meet since cost of living in a big city is quite high. Moreover, evaluating through students’ final results not only require them to prepare carefully for final exam, but also help them take their responsibilities for studying. The students can pass the exam easily if they pay high attention to revising all lessons. By contrast, high tuition must be taken into account if students fail the exam and are willing to continue to study.

On the other hand, professors might evaluate their students’ abilities base on some aspects. Firstly, I think that class participation should be considered. Professors could assess students’ understanding by asking them some questions related to recent lessons. For instance, when students speak up in class, they learn to express their ideas in a way that others can understand. Secondly, students’ abilities could be assessed basing on their monthly presentation. A wide range of skills such as team-work, communication, problem-solving or personal skills are represented in front of class, helping professors have right evaluation with accurate score.

In conclusion, I think that students’ ability should be determined basing on not only performance on a test at the end of course, but also class participation and monthly presentation as well.