It has been said that the world is becoming a global village in which there are no boundaries to trade and communication. Do the benefits of globalization outweigh the drawbacks?

It is widely seen that there are fewer boundaries between countries due to globalization. In my opinion, this phenomenon could bring about much more merits for citizens compared to its negative influences, such as company’s movement to cheaper labor force and a low-level of salary or working conditions.

Admittedly, there are several demerits people should not ignore. Firstly, some companies move from developed countries to countries which suffer from poverty, simply because the labor force is cheaper. As a result, the rate of unemployment in developed countries witnesses a drammatical increase, while there are lots of job opportunities which are created in some developing countries with crowded inhabitants. Nowadays, for instance, whereas unemployment rate is going up in the US, it is declining in China which has cheaper human resources. Secondly, employee could face a low-level of salary and working condition. Moreover, they could receive a decent salary or work in satisfying conditions, unless they had well-trained skills or were master in their fields.

Nevertheless, despite the drawbacks mentioned above, I believe that globalization might bring about far more advantages for national economies. The principal perk is that goods might be sold widely all over the world without any difficulties. In other words, the products could be traded with other companies providing that they are in multi-national enterprises. For example, Kanye West, best known for his Grammy-winning rap albums, partnered with Adidas to develop a high-end footwear line called Yeezy. It is traded with Kanye’s fan worldwide and displayed in Adidas’s outlets in different countries. Another benefit is that globalization encourages investment in less developed countries. It might support or enrich national economy as well as citizens’ standard of living.

In conclusion, trading products globally and enhancing national economy far outweigh any minor demerits that could result from worldwide integration.