Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more students today choose foreign language as their most. In my opinion, studying foreign language at primary school is better for children than learning in the secondary. It can bring about much more benefits for children compared to any negative influence it might have.

Admittedly, there are a few drawbacks when children learn nonnative language at primary school. Firstly, studying foreign language takes children a range of time learning, whilst other subjects are more important at that age. In other words, math, mother tongue language, science and art are learnt to boost children imagination as well as enrich their horizons. Secondly, the facts show that the earlier children learn to a new language, the more confused they have. If students spent much time on second language, it could delay development of children’s first language. They might mix the two languages after being studied.

Nevertheless, despite the disadvantages above, I believe that learning second language could bring about far more benefits for young students. The main aid is that it helps young children be less self-conscious or shy since they learn faster. Moreover, they pick up the pronunciation better without being guided through watching international television programs and TV shows. Another benefit is that today languages are just as vital as math or science. The governments, for instance, take into account second language subject as a main subject that students have to learn at primary school.

In conclusion, helping children more confident and considering as the fundamental subject experience far outweigh any minor drawbacks that could result from learning second language.