Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more students today choose foreign languages as their primary concern. In my opinion, studying a foreign language at primary school is better for children than learning in secondary school. It can bring about much more benefits for children compared to negative influences such as spending much time on second language and delaying the development of their first language.

Admittedly, there are several drawbacks when children learn a non-native language at primary schools. Firstly, studying a foreign language takes children a range of time learning, whilst other subjects are more important at that age. In other words, math, mother tongue language, science and art are learnt to boost children’s imagination as well as broaden their horizons. Secondly, the facts show that the earlier children are exposed to a new language, the more confused they are. If students spend much time on a second language, it will delay the development of children’s first language. They might mix the two languages after studying and are less likely to comprehend completely academic knowledge which is written in the textbooks.

Nevertheless, despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I believe that learning a second language could bring about far more benefits for young students. The main advantage is that young children are less self-conscious or shy, so they progress faster in their acquisition of a new language. They are not afraid of being judged by others when they make mistakes. Moreover, they pick up the pronunciation better without being guided through watching international television programs and TV shows. This means that they are able to imitate the sounds that they have heard accurately and naturally. Another benefit is that today languages are just as vital as math or science. The governments in many countries, for instance, take a second language subject into account as a main subject that is compulsory at primary school.

In conclusion, helping children be more confident and mastering a new language at an early age far outweigh any minor drawbacks that could result from learning a second language.