Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

It is true that tons of plastic packaging is used annually all over the world because of its benefits. While many people argue that it is necessary for manufactures and supermarkets to diminish the amount of packaging of goods since it is a dominantly contributing factor of numerous plastic wastes; however, I would believe that customers should be responsible for reducing plastic packaging to protect our future.

On the one hand, in this area, manufactures and supermarkets are the biggest commercial companies wasting lots of plastic packaging. To use a common of this practice, according to Dantri Newspaper, there are more than 80 million plastic bags used daily without any consideration by companies in Amata industrial zone. Moreover, plastic bags could get stuck in soil or land, which prevents rainy water flow, causing flood. Flooding has taken place extensively in the northern half of Vietnam’s narrow central part, demolishing inhabitants’ accommodations, villages and farms. Such a natural disaster may be long-lasting unless people stop using plastic bags. Additionally, people often believe that simple and reused packaging not only could enhance company’s reputation, but also attract those who pay high attention to environmental problems.

On the other hand, some people assume that individuals also have responsibility for reducing plastic waste by avoiding buying goods with lots of packaging. The main reason is that protecting environment is the principal mission to all citizens worldwide. More and more people living in urban areas take tote bags, which are made from recycled materials, along with them whenever they buy something from shops or supermarkets. As a result, a huge number of plastic bags decrease monthly, helping people save their money and protecting environment as well. Personally, I definitely agree with the concentration on individuals’ responsibility for saving our environment, but I feel that it may be necessary for companies and manufactures to cut down packaging of goods to prevent many kinds of pollution.

In conclusion, while many people might vary in their opinions, I believe that people globally should consider protecting environment as one of their primary aims by reducing plastic bags and using recycled objects such as metal straws, fabric cup holder or reused tote bags.