The Availability of entertainment such as playing video games on handheld devices are harmful to an individual and to a society they live in To what extent do you agree and disagree

Today’s world has witnessed the dramatic growth of numerous types of entertainment on handheld appliances. While some argue that this phenomenon can bring about several negative impacts on individuals and the whole society, I opine that it can be advantageous to some extent.

On the one hand, there are 2 main reasons why it is believed that entertainment available on handheld devices can have deleterious effects. First of all, recreational facilities such as video games can make people, especially the children, get several seriously physical and neurological disorders. For instance, if a person glues on the phone screen for a long time without going out for any social activities, he may suffer from obesity, short-sightedness or even depression. The second reason is the negative impacts of numerous illegal games distributed uncontrollably on the Internet. To be more specific, various counter-educational kinds of entertainment such as violent or sexual games may lead people to improper and unlawful behaviors. This can be the primary cause of the increase of adverse criminal cases such as robbery or sexual assault, which can damnify social safety and national security.

On the other hand, I argue that recreational facilities can be benefical to individuals and society. Firstly, technological games can direct users to positive values. To elaborate, in the past, people used to play traditional games which require little brainstorming efforts. However, nowadays, modern handheld devices have transformed into a valuable tool which has allowed games to be more complicated, requiring an advanced combination of knowledge, skills and creativity to generate an effective playing strategies. Secondly, entertainment industry based on technology games will have more opportunities to develop, thus contributing various undeniable value to the society such as taxes.

In conclusion, although it is argued that types of entertainment on handheld devices can be disadvantageous, I strongly opine that they can be have positive impacts of each individual and the development of the whole society.