The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices are harmful to individual and to the socity they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Handheld devices such as smartphones offer us various forms of stress-relieving, of which the most ubiquitous are video games. However, they also potentially bring about negative impacts on players and their community. I completely agree with this statement and in this essay I shall provide evidence to support my perspective.

Firstly, video games on smartphones are designed to be appealing and addictive. Games impress and attract people by their fascinating graphics and intriguing gameplay, which allow people to interact with others across the world and drawn into the virtual world for hours. For example, children are the easiest to become addicted to online fighting games as they would waste days and nights to complete virtual missions, collect game items and compete with the others while neglecting their study and real life relationships, leading to soaring rates of absenteeism in schools and deteriorating health conditions amongst youngsters. In addition, office workers who can conveniently log into mobile games during their work hours are often distracted and perform less efficiently.

Secondly, there is a lack of censorship applied to game contents which may negatively influence one’s behaviour and thinking. For a game to be attractive, brutal actions are displayed as much as possible to show off its graphics. These scenes contribute largely to how game players, especially children, would violently behave towards their peers and adults. For instance, a psychological research suggested that early engagement of online action games would cause children to be more aggressive and likely to use force in solving a problem rather than words.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate my perspective that availability of video games on mobile devices for entertainment purpose potentially has detrimental impacts on players because of its addictive and violent nature, despite being a pleasant form of entertainment.