Most of the world’s poor live in countries where tourism is a growing industry. The issue is that tourism does not benefit the poorest.

How can the income generated by tourism benefit the poor? And how can we ensure that tourism does not destroy traditional cultures and ways of life?

It is a ubiquitous notion that tourism has recently become a profitable sectors for most governments. However, the majority of the poor living in these countries do not have the capability to make much use of this development, and their traditional values may be eroded by foreign culture evasion. Offering education to local communities and promoting tradition-based travelling are two are the two practical solutions to these issues.

Providing vocational training to the less privileged may enable them to profit from tourism. As the industry is booming, it requires employees with higher skills and capability. For instance, a luxury hotel would need a highly-trained barista or chef in their restaurants, and would also demand its staffs to speak multiple languages to meet expectation of foreign guests. However, the impoverished do not have access to education and learn these skills; as a result, they can only obtain poorly-paid jobs. Therefore, if the needy received career training, they would definitely have greater earnings.

Moreover, taking advantage of traditional cultures would be an effective way to make use of native values for tourism development and also benefit the poor. This style of travel enables visitors to experience regular lives of local people. For example, instead of accommodating in a hotel, tourists can pay for a home-stay in with villagers. This would both gives them with insights of the local customs and provides the natives with a much-needed income.

In conclusion, the wealth generated by the thriving tourism may not flow down to the poor, and might as well deteriorate cultural values. However, if we provide the under-privileged with education and encouraging the use of conventional features in travelling services, we can bring more benefits to them and as well avoid tradition erosion.