The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices is harmful to individuals and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

The increasing popularity of entertainment on portable devices is believed to have a negative effect on individuals and society. In my opinion, I think this development has both benefits and drawbacks.

To begin with, the availability of entertainment on handheld devices is advantageous in many ways. From an individual perspective, video games and other types of entertainment serve as excellent relaxation tools for people who suffer from high levels of work-related stress. These convenient sources of entertainment allow people to distress whenever they want, either during breaks or after a long day at work, without having any impact on their productivity. Also, many mobile games help to create global communities for people sharing the same interests. For example, PUBG mobile has successfully hosted international events and competitions and thus connected millions of players together from all around the world.

Beneficial as it may be, entertainment on handheld devices can bring about several negatives impacts. Since video games are addicted, many young people these days spend too much time on their devices and therefore isolate themselves from their families and friends. This lack of face-to-face interactions not only hurts many real-life relationships but also increases the risk of mental health issues among the youth. In addiction, when people waste large amounts of tie on video games, they tend to be less physically active, which can eventually lead to a society of people leading sedentary lifestyles. Lack of exercise over a long period of tie makes people vulnerable to metabolic diseases such as obesity, causing the deterioration of health and burdening a country’s healthcare system.