The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices is harmful to individuals and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

In the modern day, technological development is an indispensable part of daily life and people have different views about whether video games on portable devices are really necessary for individuals or not. Although modern technological devices are able to satisfy human needs, it seems to be fraught with pitfalls.

On the one hand, the appearance of technological items brings about broad-based benefits in various aspects. Firstly, due to the bustle and hustle of daily life, it is undeniable that the satisfaction of entertainment is extremely necessary after a stressful day at work or study. Furthermore, video games on such portable devices as smartphones or tablets allow people to let their hair down at anywhere due to its convenience. Secondly, a whole host of mobile games creates global communities that allow people who possess the same interest to interact with each other in online platforms. For example, such trendy games as PUG and League Of Legends offer not only a lively interaction but also value competitions, thus connecting a million players around the world.

On the other hand, despite of various advantages from video games on portable devices, it may do more harm than good due to negative impacts. In fact, it is attributable to the fact that an over reliance on mobile games would render various drawbacks for youngsters, especially children at the school ages. For instance, various teenagers these day spend a significant amount of time to play games and indulge in the virtual world, this may lead to not only a studying distraction but also a fall of educational achievements. In addition, since are addicted, people usually isolate themselves from their family and their friends and waste a considerable number of hours in their rooms. As a result, both shortage of face-to-face communication and less physical activities may act as main factors to the scarcity of social skills and such various diseases as the weakness eyes or obesity

In conclusion, although portable devices can bring about broad-based advantages to individuals, a whole host of negative impacts from technological addiction is unavoidable. People should have an appropriate amount of time to make use of this kind of modern devices.