Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In modern days, people have different opinions about whether governments should prioritize the action of satisfy their citizens’ need rather than ensure the safety of wild species. Although the enhancement of living conditions is necessary, from my point of view, I concur that the protection of wild animals should be high on the agenda.

There is a wide range of reasons which presents the importance of the protection of wild animals. First, there is a fact that wildlife extinction results in an ecological crisis, which directly affects the human survival. For example, the amount of numerous marine species are gradually depleted due to excessive practice and this may render negative effects on food resources, especially, fish stocks and seafood. Second, in terms of the law of nature, there is a link between fauna and flora as well as a loss of species which can disrupt the balance of the ecosystem. As a result, by ensuring the survival of various animals at the brink of extinction, the density of fauna such as tropical forests may be extended, which may help to handle the phenomenon of climate change.

On the other hand, by ensuring either the diversity of the wildlife or the original forests, humans can not only create a coexistent environment without any competition but also generate profits from natural resources. This is because ecotourism in remote areas with diverse kinds of vegetation and animal kingdom, which may act as new a kind of traveling to benefit the well-being of the local community due to tons of occupations, especially humans and nature may live together in perfect harmony. More importantly, there is no doubt that the medical industry undergoes a rapid growth thanks to the contribution ranging from plants to species. For example, penicillin which could be found in the mushrooms by chance in the nineteenth century was a tremendous remedy and this medicine used to save countless lives.

In conclusion, in the long run benefits, I personally disagree with this statement. It is obvious that governments and citizens have to protect wildlife.