Scientific research should be carried out and controlled
by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree
or disagree?
In the modern day, scientific investigations should be managed by authorities or
private corporations, which has raised a great deal of public attention. Given that
private companies’ budgets overweigh the governments’ one in terms of carrying
out those scientific experiments, the government should undertake to conduct this
scientific research due to numerous affordable reasons.
In fact, there are two dangers of private conduct of research. Firstly, it is
attributable to the profit motive, a whole host of products are carelessly
manufactured, especially underestimating side-effects, which launch into market
containing unintended consequences. For example, thalidomide is developed by a
German enterprise causing a thousand cases of malformed births. Secondly, by
ethical reasons, it is undeniable that genetic engineering renders such social
consequences as GM crops. This technique may act as the main factor to damage
the ecosystem leading to an imbalance of the
Meanwhile, although governments have a limitation of budget spending on the
diversity of social sectors, it is reasonable to take responsibility of scientific
research by governments. Firstly, there is a fact that a number of students and
professionals in various universities inherently can conduct high-quality research
because of the long run of their knowledge. This enables to make the public of the
result of scientific investigations, which does not only help to share knowledge but
also abandon a competitive edge. Secondly, instead of focusing on making profits
by scientific products as private companies, authorities are more likely to allocate a
significant amount of money to prioritize social advantages. For instance, such
renewable energy as solar energy may deal with the issue of over-reliance on fossil
fuel, which takes a step to a fall of air contamination.
In conclusion, I personally agree with this statement, governments should take
responsibility to carry out these scientific experiments.