The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices are harmful to individuals and to the society they live in.

To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that some kinds of recreation, especially video games on handheld devices, have harmfully impacted both individuals who tend to use them and the community where they settle down. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea, because I find many reasons why we could be victims caused by them.

There is no denying that the availability of entertainment, including video games, is able to cause damaging influences on people, especially the young. It is easy to find evidence that children intending to immerse themselves in the virtual world are willing to get worse than their peers who spend less time on it. Furthermore, there are many incidents and crimes regarding video games or other entertainment means. It is found in many press reports about the heart-broken stories that some adolescents intend to commit a crime when their family members attempt to prevent them from playing video games too much. Undoubtedly, the young who will become the builders for their society and nation seem to follow the wrong path when spending their time on means of this recreation.

Regardless of many strong arguments about benefits that residents could gain from them, I personally believe that their drawbacks obviously outweigh positive potentials. According to many researchers, playing video games could make the patients’ brains more flexible than the others who are hardly involved, whereas no one can prove how long this effectiveness could last, and whether the patients could be better due to video games or physical treatments. If some people find the availability of r relaxing and distressing, they can also realize the same benefits of other activities such as physical activities or mental games. Moreover, it seems difficult to control the time or gender of those entertainments that people intend to play. As a result, they are capable of becoming addicted or more violent if they spend too much time.

In conclusion, I completely agree that the availability of recreation and video games could bring many negative effects on the individual person and the society.