To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

To be tagged a creation as a " Work of Art" is one of the most prestigious honor for any artist since it requires certain qualities and uniqueness. Many argues that there is a decline in standards of prize-winning creations which started in previous decades. This essay agrees with this argument, since there is a dip in the judgement levels compared to the previous as well as the technological advancements made art less appealing to the current generation.

In the history of mankind, the artwork was always a subject that was closely related. An artist represents his imagination in front our eyes through his artworks. Moreover, in this globalized era, various artwork competitions are mostly related to financial gains. Hence, fair numbers of these contest invite popular film stars, singers, or even political figures as a judge so that they can attract more media coverage. As a result, the evaluation of these creative works provide faulty results and true artistic works go without recognition. To cite an example, an article in "Dhaka Times" disclosed that about 40% of artistic contest in the last decade had a judge who offers a little knowledge about the field.

On the other hand, In this technology-driven world, art has become a field with less concern. For example, In the previous time a portrait was very valuable as it was rare and hard to establish. Nowadays various softwares such as "Adobe Illustrator" can easily generate spectacular portraits just by using photos. Furthermore, the major portion of the young generation choose to work with these software avoiding classical methods of paintings or sculpture. Thus, the quality is on a decline with low participation.

In a nutshell, the stunning quality of previous artwork like "Monalisa", etc are rare today. The lack of proper evaluation and draining participation of the youth in these sectors are the root causes of this phenomenon.