The best way for a country to prepare for the future is to invest more resources on young people. Do you agree and disagree?

For a nation to thrive in the future, some propose to invest greater resources to develop younger generations. I largely agree with them considering the youth’s vital role in the future workforce and their learning capacity. However, current issues should not be completely neglected.

The foremost rationale for my support for the government paying more attention to young people is the fact that they will be their country’s future workforce. If educated and trained adequately, they are likely to create national strength and prosperity. For example, the Chinese project “Future leaders”, which provided extensive support to potential students in the early 80s, produced thousands of leading figures in many fields including science, business and politics who later contributed to the country’s economic boom in the 2000s.

Another argument as for why I agree to prioritise investing in the youth is that they are faster learners. In comparison to older generations, young individuals tend to be more open-minded and enthusiastic in learning, and therefore can acquire new knowledge and skills more effectively. This can translate into a higher chance of employability and a reduced possibility of engaging in criminal acts or contributing to social instability.

Nevertheless, I acknowledge that governmental resources should also be dedicated to addressing ongoing issues. Failure in solving immediate social problems encompassing housing, poverty and inequality can have far-reaching consequences, potentially destabilizing a nation and resulting in a scarcity of resources needed for both immediate and long-term goals. Consequently, these circumstances may hinder the country’s ability to compete effectively on the global stage and impede its path to prosperity.

In conclusion, I mostly support the idea of the young receiving greater investment as they will become the main labour force and are more capable in learning even though current problems must also be addressed. That is why governments should develop a master plan to decide on the adequate amount of resources for these important projects.