The best way to deal with rising problem of traffic and transportation is by encouraging people to live in cities rather than suburbs.To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, cities are seeing a crisis of traffic congestion and problems with tranportation. Some people believe that the best way to deal with this is to motivate people to live in urban areas instead of living in outskirts and countrysides. However, I do not agree with this notion because it would enhance the problem rather than solving it and it would lead to other catastrophies.

To begin with, rising population of cities leads to more busy roads. If citizens would increase in number, the number of people using either public or private transport would definitely become high. As a result, the traffic would become heavy and there would be more chances of people getting stuck in traffic. Hence, they would not be able to reach in time to their committed places. A recent study suggested that owing to rise in the population of cities the traffic problems have doubled than they were in past.

In addition to this, public transportations would not able to accomodate all the inhabitants. Since the demand would be higher than the availability, common man would suffer. Because public transportation is economical, most of people use it, but when the riders would rise tremendously, they would not be entertained. This will also lead to inflation and poverty. Furthermore, the supplies of certain products from rural areas, for instance, milk and crops, would decrease. Hence, in the end public would have to deal with negative consequences.

To conclude, though traffic problems in cities are rising, they cannot be solved by encouraging more peopl to live in cities because this would ultimately enhance the existing problems and will also lead to new ones.