The best way for Governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that providing citizen with fee-free public transport is the most efficient way for governments to deal with traffic jams. While I agree that this solution may bring certain advantages, I am convinced that it is likely to have many impacts on society.

On the one hand, the option to supply non-fee public vehicle may exert certain disadvantages. To begin with, it is not necessary to provide free public transport in 24 hours per day and 7 days a week due to the fact that traffic congestion just happens only in rush hours such as early in the morning and late in the afternoon. The second demerit which should not be ignored is that providing public transport without any charge is not a smart solution for the economic development. I think Government should spend that investment on developing infrastructure construction like widening roads. Finally, with my experience at commuting by bus, I find this mean of transport time-consuming and inconvenient because I have to depend on its schedule. So even buses are provided freely, I will choose to ride my motorbike.

On the other hand, if this policy is implemented, various merits will be generated to society. Firstly, it encourages more people to partake in these means of transport, which may help to decrease the number of vehicles on the road. The second merit which should be highlighted is that the less vehicles are used, the less polluted the environment is. This solution will contribute much to our effort to reduce the carbon dioxide released to the air environment.

In conclusion, providing free public transport have both advantages and disadvantages. However, in my opinion, this is not a useful way to solve traffic jams because demerits seem outweigh merits.