The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that public transport should be offered in public all days a week to decline the increase of traffic jam. While I totally agree with the idea of making such type of program, I believe that this plan could not benefit to some extent.

On the one hand, to decrease the rate of stuck in traffic; the executive branch should invest the public transport system in their country. This solution will decelerate the number of private vehicles on the street, for example, in rush hours. As a result, the snarl-up will significantly reduce.

However, I suggest that this decision will not be accepted. First and foremost, the cost of investing the public transport is always high, therefore, governments will lack of a huge amount of money to this problem and there are other demands need to be expensed like education, health service, environment… Secondly, it will be wasteful at the time from midnight to early morning because a mere minority of travelers goes out at this time.

In conclusion, public transport is sort of solving many problems of rush hour, however, this measure would be ineffective because of high cost and another disadvantages.