The best way to improve the safety of our road is to give much stricter punishment on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that giving stricter punishment on driving offenses is the best way to make our road safer. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this idea, because people are always scared of losing money and the money gathered can be used to improve facilities.

We all know that it is really hard to earn money these days, so if people are fined a large amount of money every time they break the traffic laws, they will have to be careful. My uncle, for instance, rode a bike over the speed at 70km/h in an urban area and got caught. He was fined 5 million VND, it equivalents a month of working. From then on, I never see him ride the bike over 50km/h even on the empty roads.

Moreover, the amount of money that the Government gets through punishing the driving offenses can be reused to improve roads and other facilities. It is clear that money taken from society must be used to develop society. For example, after a year of punishing people riding a bike with no helmet, Government got over $1 billion. They used that money to widen some narrow roads and built a couple of overpasses. As such, it really improved the traffic experience for society.

To conclude, for the reason mentioned above, I believe that the much stricter the punishment is, the better traffic we can get