Foreign languages should be a compulsory subject for children at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that children should learn a second language from young age. In my opinion, I firmly agree with this idea since learning a new language is a good way to develop children’s brain and it also benefits the field of science of a country.

Firstly, learning foreign language clearly contributes a large part in brain development. Brain is like a muscle that functions better with exercise. Learning a new language involves memorizing and applying rules, that is perfect exercise for brain. Take myself as an example; when I studied English, I had to learn by heart, constantly recall new words in many topics, such as nature, environment, etc. I also took many lengthy grammatically lessons, from simple tense to complex conditional sentences. As a result, the hours of learning English trained my brain to think logically to organize all vocabulary and grammar I had learned.

Secondly, countries requiring students to study foreign languages will be better off through the inheritance of scientific achievement. Those students studying a new language from a young age tend to go abroad to continue learning and researching and then bring back advanced technologies and knowledge to their home country. For example, the Vietnamese government sent engineers to Soviet Union to study civil engineering, that was a good chance for students to be taught by Russian experts. After a period of studying abroad, they eventually returned to Vietnam, constructed the major hydroelectricity dam in Hoa Binh, contributing significantly to national grids in Vietnam.

To conclude, for the reasons mentioned above, I fully believe that foreign languages should be included as a mandatory subject in school curriculum.