A country should spend money on skills training or vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that authorities should use money for developing skills training or vocational training rather than University education. I strongly agree with this idea given how skilled workers bring benefits to their company and this change can tackle the fact that there is graduate unemployment, but a shortage of skilled workers.

Firstly, it is clear that the real working environment requires people who can really do their jobs. Nowadays, many companies are seeking for applicants who have experience about their fields. Moreover, when it comes to working, skilled workers are always preferred than graduate fresher with no experience. My cousin, for instance, applied to an IT vocational college after graduating high school. When he went to a back-end developer interview in a local IT company, he was immediately chosen over 5 applicants graduating from well-known university. This example clearly shows how skilled workers can fulfill the needs of companies in modern life.

Secondly, the number of graduate students out-numbered that of people who choose to go for skills training courses. In fact, almost all of people believe that there is only acceptable choice after high school is going to University, very few people considers to go to vocational college for a specific job. For example, in Vietnam, the percentage of graduate students who found a job is 70%, compared to 95% in that of vocational students. This situation leads to the problem of being too many chiefs, not enough Indians.

In conclusion, for the reasons I mentioned above, I believe that more money should be spent on training skills for practical working environment than teaching theoretical knowledge in University.