Economic progress is one way to measure the success of one country, while some people think there are other factors. What other factors should be considered? Within these factors, do you think anyone is more important than the others?

There are many methods to judge the development of a country besides the traditional measure of economic growth. Some of these factors include HDI index and the environment quality index, of which I believe the EQI holds more significance.

Firstly, countries can measure the well-being of the population using the Human Development index (HDI), since it indicates quality of life for people. In details, HDI consists of life expectancy indicator reflecting the length of life, the education indicator reflecting the average level of study attained, and the per capita income reflects standards of living, measured by Gross Nation Income per capita. Secondly, the Environment Quality Index (EQI) is also a useful benchmark, since it explores the relationship between the environment and human health. Specifically, EQI measures how the factors of air, water, land pollution, and ecological balance affect the life and health status of citizens of a country.

In my opinion, among these two factors, EQI index is more important since a clean environment is important to the reputation of a country. For many nations, immigration is a way to measure how attractive it is on the international stage, and people nowadays are increasingly concerned about the environment quality of where they choose to live. For example, thanks to its unbelievably low levels of air and water pollution, as well as expansive coverage of green spaces, Singapore has become a magnet for expatriates and tourists. The island nation is extremely picky about who they choose to let in, which shows how a clean environment can help greatly boost the global prestige of a country.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe EQI index holds more significance in measuring the progress of a country.