The best way to reduce crime among young people is to teach parents good parenting skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that teaching parents good nurturing skills is the most appropriate way to mitigate juvenile crime. This essay completely disagrees with this viewpoint because it will have very little effect on the juvenile crime rate and making strict laws is the best method to reduce crime amongst youngsters.

The primary reason why teaching mother and father good parenting traits does not make sense is that it would decrease a very little crime rate among young people. This is because parents teach their children essential morals and ethics to make them valuable citizens. However, it is the outside environment of their house, which encourages them to commit any crime, such as peer pressure. For example, it is shown in a recent survey by Cambridge University that 25% of youngsters committed crimes by the influence of their peers irrespective of how good they were taught by their parents.

Another reason for mitigating the juvenile crime rate is that the government should make the law against it. This is to say that severe punishments deter the youth from indulging in criminals activities, which could jeopardize their and their family’s lives. This will result in them staying away from any illegal activities and becoming responsible citizens. For instance, the UAE has the lowest crime rate amongst youngsters because the state has strict rules and impose heavy fines against any criminal affairs.

In conclusion, reducing juvenile crime by teaching parents good parenting skills is not a suitable option because this would be less effective to deter young people to commit any crime and strict laws are the only way.