The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that providing parents with necessary parental techniques is the most effective way to cope with the increasing rate of juvenile delinquency. Personally, I disagree with this belief because as well as parents, schools also play a key role in dealing with this problem.

Words and actions of adults are likely to have great impacts on the characteristic of children as they tend to unconsciously imitate their parents. In other words, parents are the role models for their kids through their behavior towards their children and others. Therefore, bad upbringing can exert bad implications on a child’s livelihood, increasing the chance of their involvement in juvenile offenses. For example, kids who grew up in a family full of bitter arguments or even violence tend to act violently with their friends or bully other classmates. Clearly, parents play a significant role in children’s behavioral development.

I tend to believe that schools as well as other educational institutions’ role in the development of children, is more crucial. When kids reach school age, they spend more time at school than at home. Therefore, schools can deter children from embarking on a life of crime by making their students spend their free time attending beneficial programs such as communication skills courses, art classes, and sports clubs. For example, my cousin, who is a big and aggressive boy, used to bully his classmates as his favorite hobby. However, after joining a karate club, he is not violent anymore and he spends all his free time practicing karate with a dream of becoming a karate master.

In conclusion, the best way to reduce youth crimes is the joint efforts from families and schools to educate children to become good persons.