The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent you agree or disagree?

It is true that there has been a dramatic increase in crime among young adults. While it is often argued that juvenile crimes can only reduce by teaching their parents with parental skills, I completely disagree with this viewpoint.

On the one hand, providing parents with knowledge about how to bring up youngsters can exert influence upon the decline of youth crimes to a certain extent. The main reason is that parents are closest people to their sons and daughters since their birthday. Moreover, the major reason of committing crime is attributed to inappropriate child rearing.

On the other hand, education at home is not enough since children are not unwilling to listen to their parents’ advises. To be more specific, children in Vietnam spend most of their time at school, which means that they are susceptible to negative peer pressure such as drinking alcohol, beer and these factors play a vital role in juvenile offending. Furthermore, there are also many ways of decreasing youth crimes besides educating parents with parental skills. The simple solution would be to add more knowledge related to effects of crime to the school curriculum. The most effective measure would be to invite ex-prisoners to talk to teenagers about the criminal lifestyle as they are more likely to speak from their experiences and dispel any wrong ideas.

In conclusion, while educating parents about skills can somehow have profound impacts on reducing juvenile deliquencies, the best way is to mix measures mentioned above to practice.