The best way to reduce youth crimes is to teach their parents parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the most effective solution to juvenile delinquency is to offer parents with parenting courses. I partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, providing parents with parental skills could have a positive impact on a child’s attitudes and behaviors. Being at such impressionable ages, teenagers are likely to be affected by external factors, one of which is parents’ behaviors. Therefore, parental lessons play a crucial role in guiding on how parents should act in the house and how the conservation between them and their offspring should be going. As a result, arguments and misunderstandings are avoided, leaving children more thoughtful before committing any crime.

On the other hand, teaching parents parental skills is insufficient to tackle such a major issue in society as youth crimes. More actions need to be taken outside the house such as schools, legal justice system. Firstly, schools should act as a second educator to children by imparting morality and justice besides academic knowledge. To do that, rules and regulations should be clearly expressed and implemented to show children the fact that no one is going to break the rules with impunity. Secondly, courts should be tough on juvenile delinquents by imposing the right punishments for them without tolerance. By doing that, crimes will become a major fear and threat to teenagers’ life, not a choice with light punishments.

In conclusion, parenting courses are helpful to prevent children from a life of crime, however, schools and the justice system should play a supplementary role in minimizing youth crimes.