the best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is recommended that a rising in fuel price is the most effective way to remedy the global environmental issues. While I accept that this measure may exert a positive influence on the problem, I believe that there are possible ways that can outperform it.

On the one hand, it is foreseen that gaining cost of fuel may lead to a marked improvement for the environmental degradation. Indeed, higher fuel expenditure deters citizens from using their personal means of transport. Not only will this reduce the number of vehicles, but also result in a cut down on emission of harmful gases contaminated by transportation, which is one of the most significant contributing factors to heated environmental issues like air pollution, greenhouse effect, ozone layer depletion or global warming. Moreover, the policy also slows down the consumption rate of fossil energy, which is thought to be exhausted in near future. Therefore, it can be seen as an effective solution to the depletion of natural resource as well.

On the other hand, several ways should be proposed so that nations can alleviate environmental problems more effectively.

Firstly, the government may find it necessary to prioritize its budget to innovation of alternative energy. Indeed, compared to gaining fuel price, a temporary measure that only suspends, the fuel austerity, the creation of renewable energy can permanently tackle citizens’ dependence on fossil one, and, therefore completely prevent its exhaustion. Additionally, introducing green taxes and incentives for environmentally friendly designs of new vehicles are also suitable. Particularly, through these measures, the authority can put its weight behind the mission of raising public awareness of environmental problems without enormously harming the oil industry.

Briefly, while gaining the price of fuel is an efficient solution, it seems to me that better measures can be stated to resolve the ecological issue.