It has been recognized that only by tightening controls on careless drivers will road safety be upgraded. While I accept that this may be an efficient resolution, I believe that substantial improvements can also be reaped by other feasible measures.

On the one hand, imposing more rigorous punishments is predicted to reduce the risk on roads. To be more specific, adopting these policies, the government is expected to substantially raise public awareness about the importance of abiding by road safety regulations. Indeed, if driving offenders are informed that illegal manipulation on the roads may result in a higher on-the-spot fine or even imprisonment, they will find it necessary to avoid perpetuating careless driving due to the serious consequence they have to suffer. As a result, citizens will be less likely to suffer from catastrophic accidents. For example, when the UK government introduced an official ban on driving while intoxicated, statistics showed a significant decline in the number of head-on collisions, or hit-and-run due to drinking driving, proving the effectiveness of this announcement.

On the other hand, I concur with the view that there are also several other ways that can be proposed to gain road safety. Firstly, conducting vehicle inspections should be highly recommended for drivers. Indeed, if this project is applied on a regular basis, they will help the authorities eliminate transportations which are not roadworthy enough and, therefore, diminish accidents caused by their wear and tears. Secondly, upgrading and expanding public transport provision is another suitable solution. To be more specific, when state-owned railway and bus systems become ubiquitous and speed up journey times, they are believed to discourage the use of private vehicles, which prevents citizens from pile-up due to driving by themselves.

In brief, while not disavowing positive effects of stricter punishments, I believe that other road safety measures can bring about similar outcomes.