Sport has turned out as a multi-billion-dollar industry thanks to the involvement of business firms, which economically benefits athletes. While I accept that this tendency exerts advantageous impacts on the society, I believe that it also brings about several drawbacks.

On the one hand, when money is poured into sports, it acts as a catalyst for a positive development by two major reasons. Regarding to athletes, their participation in sport merchandizing, such as the endorsement of sporting goods, is believed to substantially upgrade their incomes. As a result, they may find it easier to earn a living and assure a decent life, compared to their predecessors in the past and, therefore, can completely focus on their career and boost their achievement. Regarding to the nation’s sports, its prosperity is expected to eradicate the stereotype that athletes never reap an adequate remuneration to their dedications and efforts. Therefore, this will motivate more youngsters to take up sports, which may provide a huge number of potential sport professions for the country.

On the other hand, when sport is transformed into a business, it also contributes to the emergence of many problems. In fact, if athletes are not mature enough, they will jeopardize their careers by eroding moral character. Firstly, the engaging economic output is sometimes prioritized over the Olympic ideal by professions. Consequently, this leads to a win-at-all-cost attitude, which drives sportsmen to banned manipulations, like using performance-enhancing drugs. Secondly, a more serious challenge stems from such prohibited business as gambling on sporting events, which may make athletes turn into crime. Indeed, it has been witnessed that many football players were disqualified from participation due to getting involved in sports betting and match fixing conspiracies.

In conclusion, I opine that when people commercialize sports, not only does this create beneficial effects but also promote many obstacles.