High school students are usually not good at managing money. What are the reasons? What are the solutions?

It is witnessed that budget management is becoming a weakness of high school students. There are several reasons behind this situation and several feasible solutions should be recommended to tackle the problem.

To begin with, two major reasons for which teenagers are not good at controlling their budgets can be stated. Firstly, it is the lack of knowledge about money management that makes them find it difficult. Indeed, in many countries, they are not equipped with fundamental economic lessons at school due to their absence from the academic program. This austerity leads to the disability of determining whether an item is necessary, and, therefore, an extravagance when teenagers decide what to purchase. Secondly, family background is also a contributing factor. Indeed, as an age group focusing on expressing themselves and asserting the independence, high school students tend to ignore parent’s advice and channel their budgets into unnecessary products, which they deem essential accoutrements for their lives.

However, a number of solutions must be proposed for this issue. Regarding to high schools, it is highly recommended that basic economic curricula must be integrated into the training program. Moreover, extra-curricular activities, which facilitate students conduct, or run their own business is also useful. Not only do these programs inform them of the financial section but also provide them with essential knowledge about the importance of making the most of their money. In addition, parental involvement also plays a role by teaching their children not to squander their savings at their early ages. Indeed, if it comes to children’s knowledge that money should be spent wisely at the beginning of their childhood, the advice will be more easily accepted and obeyed when they grow up.

Briefly, an cooperative effort of schools and families is vital in improvement of budget managing skills among high school children.