Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is recognized that the internet has changed radically the way children acquire knowledge. While many people believe that schools will be redundant and completely replaced by home schooling thanks to broadband connection, I totally disagree with this view.

To begin with, schools play an indispensible role in educating children because of many reasons. The first one is training quality assurance. In fact, when children learn independently through the Internet, it is often difficult to ensure that they will merely focus on lessons instead of indulging themselves with accessing to other entertaining websites. By contrast, learning at school, students will study under the supervision of teachers, who are experienced enough to prevent them from poor academic performances, thanks to giving feedback or imposing discipline. Another reason stems from extra-curricular activities. Specifically, this equips students with many soft skills like cooperation or team-work…, which they cannot acquire by online learning.

Furthermore, it is impossible for the Internet to substitute schools due to several weaknesses. Firstly, there are question marks over its ability to “work” as a trainer. In fact, unlike teachers, who can tailor their teaching styles, online education services can offer only similar curricula to a wide range of scholastic capabilities. This lack of flexibility may make children more likely to find knowledge out of their depths, or even fall behind with their studies. Additionally, an excessive load of materials available on the Internet also has a drawback. Indeed, although this ubiquity makes the studies more convenient, it also requires children to sift information, which is sometimes beyond their capabilities.

In brief, although the Internet is useful, I believe that schools remain the key factor to ensure the success for an education and cannot be substituted by any automatic tools in the future.