In today’s digital age, anyone with a smartphone can capture and share photographs. this accessibility to photography diminishes the value of professional photographers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that due to the digital revolution, photographic experts are no longer high on demand. While I accept that technological advancements can replace them in several circumstances, I believe that visual professions remain generally indispensable.

On the one hand, advocates of technology highlight its superiority in supporting photographic novices. To begin with, it is widely witnessed that smartphones have been equipped with visual features like filters and editors, which enable users to adjust the colour, contrast and sharpness of the images. Therefore, as long as meticulous attention to artistic expression is unnecessary, just as people often post an update on social media, such functions can sufficiently satisfy their demand. Besides the informational purposes, instant capture of the moment has been more favourable than ever thanks to portable electronic devices. Indeed, while hiring a photographer may be costly and time-consuming, the ubiquity and affordability of smartphones have enormously supported individuals in keeping an insight into the passing scenes.

On the other hand, the role played by professional photographers is irrefutable in the visual industry. In fact, most of them inherently have an artistic vision and specialise in certain genres, like portrait or landscape, so they are sensitive and competent enough to unleash the beauty of the scopes. Hence, in comparison to those snapped by amateur counterparts, their works are believed to have a higher aesthetic quality, which explains why brands mostly entrust them with promotional campaigns. Another noteworthy point is that their expertise, ranging from lighting, composition and post-processing skills, enable visual experts to offer viewers an in-depth illustration. Therefore, their images can serve an educational purpose, which not only nurture artistic talents but also contribute to materials for other science.

In brief, while not disavowing the significance of technological devices, it seems to me that photographers can not be entirely superseded in today’s society.