The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The today’s digital revolution has made traditional conversations be superseded by public network. While not disavowing their drawbacks, I believe that the advantages of social media still dominate.

On the one hand, negative influences exerted by interactive multimedia have been widely recognized in terms of residents’ relationship and health. Firstly, convenient text-messaging features of social media may people prefer online conversations to face-to-face contact, which discourage real interaction. Consequently, not only does this leads to a lack of communication skills but also diminishes the level of understanding and authentic emotion, especially when feelings are expressed by emotional icons rather than gestures. Regarding to health, public network makes people channel more time into using their smartphones or computers. This over-reliance on technological devices encourages a closed and sedentary lifestyle, the major contributing factors to many problems in both terms of physical and mental. That explains why the number of people needing treatments for social media addiction has grown significantly in the UK nowadays.

On the other hand, it seems to me that social media offers a huge number of considerable advantages. Firstly, if public network were not available, it would be impossible for residents to keep in touch through a long distance. Indeed, interactive multimedia with a wide range of conversation tools such as text-messaging or video-conferencing facilitates them keep abreast of others’ situation as well as accomplish multinational cooperation without traveling an extensive journey. Another advantage stems from business, in which once publications about products go viral through posts on social media, this will assist brands with highly economical marketing strategies. In addition, communication tools on public network also motivate e-commerce, which is beneficial for consumer thanks to a shortened shopping duration.

In brief, although its negative impacts should not be overlooked, I believe that social media remains advantageous because of the above outweighing positive ones.