Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do agree or disagree?

Thanks to the advent of modern technology specifically the Internet, human's life has been undergone dramatic transformation. Some argue that the role of schools is now inferior due to instant access of world wide data thus online courses or home-schooling are more appropriate. Albeit the significance of these methods, I strongly believe human-related educational techniques cannot be replaced by artificial intelligence.

To start with, when being sent to schools, students have a chance to get exposed to different kinds of social interactions with their peers. The experience of communication, engaging in live discussions or giving presentations in public shall help the young minds develop their interpersonal skills. In fact, in high schools or universities where community and group activities are organized on a frequent basis, members of the young generation participate in clubs to exchange new ideas and especially enjoy their quality time with friends who have common hobbies and interests with them. By doing so, their social network could be widely expanded and eventually benefit them in the future once they seek for allies to cooperate for a community project or set up the foundation of an entrepreneur.

In addition, teachers or professors in different levels of education play an indispensable part in both the social development and academic progress of young students. The understanding of moral concepts in relation to empathy and integrity is barely gained by any means of technology but only when experiencing them in person, at schools in particular. It should be the teachers in some elementary schools that deliver the messages to shape the personalities and behaviors of children. They learn about how to share their advantages with others and support one another in difficult times. For further education, sources of more reliable information such as authentic text books or journal articles are more likely to be found in academic institutions where there are well-trained lecturers who are able to direct and supervise students in their thesis or school reports.

To conclude, although the revolutionary change brought by the technological era, schools are still indispensable because of their paramount importance in terms of developing social skills of young children.