Developments in technology has brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The advent of modern technology was seen to make huge transformation to human’s lives. Along with obvious advantages of technology, it also imposes several constraints on the sustainability of the environment. Many claim people should simplify our lives, whereas others propose new technology as the solution to such problem.

On the one hand, technological inventions have proceeded beyond one can imagine and still continue to grow. In comparison to the old times, everyone is far from the chance to use hybrid transport vehicles, which are the main contributor to the ever-increasing carbon dioxide emission and fresh air shortage. It is a common belief that the use of bicycles shall alleviate this problem, significantly improving the air quality. In addition, young people, especially children without parental supervision, tend to overuse electronic devices, personal computers or smart phones in particular. By doing so, the amount of electricity consumed has increased over periodical times, raising much public concern about excess power consumption. In fact, some parents strongly recommend the rule of strictly prohibiting mobile devices and computers except for work-related and educational purposes. This way, pressure on the world’s energy resources could be reduced.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied about the profound development of human intelligence. Given the environment downside, modern technology has made enormous shift to solve its own problem. As a matter of fact, the invention of wind turbines or solar power generator is likely to lessen our overdependence on fossil fuel as a major energy source. Furthermore, although electronic transportation is solely in early phase of development, it could be considered as green technology which does not only protect the environment, but also plays a role in preserving global resources. When people have a thorough understanding of how green technology is being applied, they are able to take advantage of it with a brand new perspective.

In conclusion, despite the benefits in terms of absence of technology in our lives, I am truly of the idea that incorporating environmentally friendly equipment in daily activities should be effective on a large scale.