In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbours and the sense of community is lost. Discuss the causes and give measures to turn it around.

Many city dwellers claim that social communication is a big problem to them as they can barely create conversations with their neighbors within their living areas. There are a number of reasons leading to this, thus some solutions should be considered to alleviate it.

To begin with, one root cause for barriers between neighbors could involve the high pressure from higher living standard in big cities as a result of globalization. Workers or even employers have to strengthen their workplace commitment to secure a stable income or maintain their businesses. By doing this, they have little chance to socialize with friends living next door since many jobs, factory workers for instance, require to work overtime. In addition, the dominant role of technology in everyone's lives has many influences on the way people spend their time for recreational activities. Instead of participating in voluntary work organized by the local authority, they stay indoor after work to watch TV or play online games. This behavior, in fact, is widely popular among office workers, teachers and even students.

Therefore, measures should be taken to address this challenge as soon as possible. First, government spending should be allocated for education, specifically community courses to engage citizens to attend field trips. This way, not only do people earn more real-life experience, but they are also able to be exposed to different people with various personalities. Their common interests and passions will contribute to building their bonding. Moreover, big companies could bring a new perspective to their customers by launching advertisement campaigns disseminating information relating to fostering soft skills. Given such condition, it allows people to eradicate their fear to express their individuality in public.

In conclusion, although the reasons for the loss of community connection are problematic, everyone is encouraged to stand together as a force to overcome any obstacles and build a stronger community.