Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of working duration has raised much concern from the public. Some people claim that in order for a country to develop in terms of its economy, the average working hours should be extended to generate more productivity. However, to my way of thinking, I strongly oppose this view and believe that suitable periods spent for work could be adjustable.

On the one hand, employees are more likely to be more prone to illness either physically and mentally if they stay at work for prolonged hours. Symptoms such as lower back pain or headaches are reported by many workers, especially those in technology industry, when they work overtime. Moreover, due to the immense workload they have to handle every day, their mental health has to suffer negatively and might lead to more serious disorders. Lacking a sense of fulfillment and satisfaction, for example, is considered as one of the most common consequences people encounter when working longer time. This, indeed, will affect the national economy in the long run as a result of labor shortage.

On the other hand, with the advancement of modern technology nowadays, people can work remotely outside their office, giving their working hours more flexibility. Some jobs, freelancer in particular, allow employees to work online from home whenever they want as long as they can fulfill their tasks in prior to the due day. This way, they are given more freedom to work and relax interchangeably more than ten hours per day. According to experts, the more joyful the workers are, the more energy and productivity they can generate, thus making the business more prosperous and ultimately contributing to fostering the economy. In addition, online working can even attract extra foreign investment and develop global trade between different countries.

In conclusion, despite some minor influences when employees work overtime, I strongly favor the idea of working longer hours remotely to reach one's fullest potentials and make the national economy more successful.