The best way to resolve international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A large number of solutions are proposed by international experts in an attempt to mitigate global environmental issues. While I accept that raising fuel prices might prove efficient in the fight against climate change to some extent, I believe that this is not the best measure to alleviate environmental problems.

On the one hand, it is justifiable that the government should raise taxes on the cost of fuel. Firstly, the passage of such a policy will discourage people from using private means such as cars or motorbikes. The fact that there are less cars travelling on roads means that the amount of exhaust emissions will plunge, which slows down the process of global warming. Secondly, by increasing petrol prices, the dependence on fossil fuels will decrease significantly. Thus, I believe that international bodies should exert pressure on countries to raise fuel prices.

On the other hand, I suppose that there are more effective ways to tackle international environmental issues. First, from a transport policy perspective, it is important to introduce restrictions on private vehicles to cut down on/curb emissions. For example, congestion charges might be of great help if applied appropriately in metropolises, which has been demonstrated by the example of London – the city that became much greener due to this policy. Furthermore, there is a need to find and use alternative energy sources like wind or solar. These are clean, renewable energy sources which have no negative effect on our environment.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that raising fuel cost would be a useful measure but this is by no means the best solution to a wider range of global environmental problems.