The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays environmental degradation is one of the most alarming issues that we are facing. It is believed that the problems related to the environment would be best tackled by inflating the price of petroleum. In my view, it is an inefficient solution and there are several reasonable alternatives.

Firstly, the inevitable demand for time efficiency and safe commuting in the modern world makes the change of fuel prices become rather insignificant, which proves the ineffectiveness of the suggested policy. In other words, even if the price were increased, people would still travel by their preferred form of transport on a daily basis and the problems of pollution would remain. For example, the gasoline price ratio in VietNam is very high compared to the world in 2017 (over 50%), but the level of environmental pollution still increases. This causes social disagreement and resentment.

On the other hand, this solution, albeit protective and preventive, is not the most effective way to address contamination. The major reason is that this solution can solve air pollution without any influences on other culprits also damaging environments such as intensive farming, overpopulation or the illegal disposal of waste from factories. Instead, each individual needs to live a greener and kinder life to the environment by classifying waste, using eco-friendly energy or simply walking more. The government should hold programs to raise people's awareness of the consequences of their actions on the surrounding environment and their future life so that they will take responsibility for their own actions.

In conclusion, I believe that heightening the price of fuel to address pollution problems is somewhat absurd and there is a number of other more suitable and effective solutions should be done.