The best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Raising the petrol price is believed to be the best solution to alleviate environmental issues. From my point of view, although this measure can help tackle air pollution to a degree, this is not the most optimal way as it may detrimentally impact the global economy that depends much on fuel while creating environmental social awareness would be a more effective approach.

On the one hand, to some extent, a surge in fuel prices positively impacts the habitat on the Earth. First and foremost, it may decrease demand for vehicles using this kind of energy, thus reducing harmful emissions that pollute the atmosphere. Indeed, once the expense per kilometer soars to an unaffordable level, commuters will resort to cheaper means of transportation, such as bikes, buses, or electric vehicles, which remarkably lowers the level of exhausted fume amount released into the air. Furthermore, the governments can impose tax on fuel purchases to fund environmental cleanup and conservation programs. As done in many countries, this ensures that the general population’s demand for petrol can facilitate the restoration of pollution damage caused by fuel emission.

However, I still opine that while an increase in fuel prices can only solve a limited part of the complex environmental issues, it may pose a crisis to the global economy. To be more specific, the causes of pollution are diverse, involving the use of plastic bags in shopping or chemicals used in both agriculture and industry which contaminate air, water, and land. Therefore, the most effective solution would be running a worldwide campaign that raises consumer awareness about the environmental cost of their shopping habits and presses companies to reduce the consumption of noxious chemicals and resolve to greener cultivating and manufacturing methods. Moreover, if fuel becomes more expensive, transportation will follow, and businesses bear the brunt of this impact, which causes them to raise the price of goods and services. Consequently, the economy would undergo inflation and discontentment would appear among the population.

In conclusion, it is justifiable to say that increasing the price of fuel partly addresses air pollution. From my viewpoint, the economy can face a crisis because of the frenzy of upward fluctuation of fuel prices and a comprehensive global campaign to convey education and regulation is the most superior resolution for environmental problems.